Rhostïe, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Rhostie, Ceredigion)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngRhostïe

A guide to genealogy in Rhostïe, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Rhostïe or Rhostie is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

RHÔSDIAU (RHÔS-DDÛ), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (S. by E.) from Aberystwith. This parish, which is situated within a few miles of Cardigan bay, is of very small extent. The surface is varied, and in some part mountainous; and the surrounding scenery is characterized rather by features of rugged boldness than of pleasing or picturesque appearance: the soil in the lower grounds is productive, and the declivities of the hills afford scanty pasturage for sheep and young cattle. Its distance from any great turnpike road renders this place difficult of access, and it has therefore little intercourse, even with the neighbouring places. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, having for some time been in a state of ruinous dilapidation, was rebuilt in 1816.[1]

For more information see Rhostïe at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, (1849), pp. 345-356. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 804 times.