Rhuddlan, DenbighshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
"RHUDDLAN, a borough, sea-port, and parish, partly in the hundred of Prestatyn, and partly in that of Rhuddlan, county of Flint, 11 miles (W. by N.) from Holywell, 16 (W. by N.) from Flint, 21 (N.W. by W.) from Mold, and 220 (N.W.) from London, containing, with the chapelry of Rhyl, 1506 inhabitants. The name of this place, which is of very great antiquity, is supposed to be derived from the red coulour of the soil on the banks of the river Clwyd, on which it is situated. The town appears to have been of considerable importance from the earliest period; and the adjoining marsh, called by the Welsh "Morva Rhuddlan" is distinguished as the scene of a memorable and sanguinary battle which took place in the year 795. ... The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient structure, partly in the early style of English architecture. ... There are places if worship for Baptists and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists, the two latter having also places of worship at Rhyl." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
For more information on Rhuddlan see: Genuki - Rhuddlan
|before 31 March 1974||Flintshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Denbighshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464325. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 28 June 2013, at 18:15.
- This page has been accessed 371 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More