Rhydycroesau, Shropshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rhydycroesau, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Oswestry PLU|
|Parish registers: 1838|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
Rhydycroesau is a village on the English-Welsh border, about 3 miles west of Oswestry. It partly lies in the Shropshire parish of Oswestry Rural; the other part is in Powys in Wales. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 21:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,350 times.