Rio Grande County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Rio Grande County

Guide to Rio Grande County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Rio Grande County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Rio Grande County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1852
County Seat Del Norte
Courthouse
Address Rio Grande County Courthouse
925 6th
PO Box 160
Del Norte, CO 81132-0160
Phone: 719.657.2744
Rio Grande County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk Recorder has marriage records from 1876
and land records from 1874; Clerk County Court has
divorce, probate and court records.[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1898-1907 [2]*
1874 [2]*
1902-1907 [2]*

1874
1874
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Del Norte[1]

Parent County

Coriogrande.jpg
  • Before 1861 this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.
  • 1874 Rio Grande County was created 10 February 1874 from Conejos and Costilla Counties.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Rio Grande County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Rio Grande County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rio Grande County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Colorado State Archives put has an Index of Rio Grande County teacher certificate applications for the years 1874-1893 on-line. Index gives only the name and the date.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Rio Grande County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968<br><br>

Rio Grande County Teacher Certificate Applications 1874 - 1893
Rio Grande School Census #22 1917 - 19 18
Rio Grande Probate Cases (1874 – 1921)

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries

Carnegie Public Library
120 Jefferson Street
Monte Vista, CO 81144
Telephone 719-852-3931
Website http://www.montevistalibrary.org/6601.html

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [9]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [9]

Divorce

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 101, Rio Grande County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 94.
  3. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  4. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  6. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  7. Handybook, 97, Conejos County, Colorado, and 99, Guadalupe County, Colorado.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Guadalupe County, Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guadalupe_County,_Colorado_Territory (accessed 23 June 2012).
  9. 9.0 9.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,162 times.