Ripon Holy Trinity, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Ripon

Contents

Parish History

RIPON A church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1827, and stood within the city and ancient parish boundary of Ripon St Peter and St Wilfrid (the Cathedral), West Riding of York, 23 miles northwest by west of York. There are two places of worship in the town for Wesleyans, and one each for Independents and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Ripon holy Trinity exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestory.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
RIPON HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1574) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1574-1837

1716-1866

None

JMI None

1576-1837

None

ANC (£) 1574-1628

1574-1628

1574-1628

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

SHAROW CHAPELRY (1825) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1825-1837

None

None

JMI None

None

None

ANC (£) None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

BISHOP MONKTON CHAPELRY (1852) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1852-1865

None

1852-1865

BISHOP THORNTON CHAPELRY (1816) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1816-1875

None

1836-1875

ALDFIELD WITH STUDLEY Chapelry (1825) Indexes - in Ripon Parish

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1825, 1840, 1847-1864
None
1840, 1847-1864
JMI None None
None
FMP None
None
None
HATH None
None
None
AO None
None
None


Ripon Holy Trinity was a chapel of ease to Ripon St Peter's (the Cathedral). See or visit Ripon Cathedral page for possible entries for this church. 

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish was created in 1853.  Church of England records began in 1827 for Ripon, Holy Trinity.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 671-676.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 918 times.