Ripple, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Ripple, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary the Virgin Church, Ripple Kent.jpg

Contents

Parish History

RIPPLE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Deal. The church is in the early English style: in the churchyard are two fine yew-trees. Near the church is a military work, thrown up by Cæsar in his route from the sea to his principal camp on Barham Down; and in another part of the parish is a small oblong intrenchment, inclosing several small mounds.[1]

Ripple is a viilage ( also known as Ripple Vale) and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Ripple Kent Wikipedia

Ripple St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in Sandwich Deanery of the Diocese of Canterbury in the county of Kent; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

The Ancient church was replaced by the current church in 1860/1.

The Church of St Mary the Virgin, Church Lane, Ripple has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 564-573. at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ripple, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Ripple, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1563-1783 1563-1783 1563-1838; 1754-1822 (Banns) 1563-1838; 1754-1822 (Banns) 1560-1812 1560-1812

Parish registers for Ripple, 1560-1993 Microfilm of original records in possession of Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: U3/223/1/1-4, U3/132/B1, C1, D2, E1. The church is dedicated to St. Mary.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1563-1655, 1681-1783; marriages, 1563-1654, 1683-1760; burials, 1560-1654, 1684-1783. Baptisms, 1784-1812; burials, 1783-1812. Marriages, 1755-1811; banns, 1754-1822. Marriages, 1813-1836.
FHL BRITISH Film
1836032 Items 17 - 20
Baptisms, 1813-1933. Marriages, 1839-1953. Banns, 1907-1954. Burials, 1813-1993.
FHL BRITISH Film
2354704 Items 8 - 11

Archdeacon's transcripts, 1563-1812; Bishop's transcripts, 1603-1906 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: DCa/BT/151; DCb/BT1/190; DCb/BT2/249. Some early pages damaged. The church is dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin.

Content
Film
Archdeacon's transcripts: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1563-1812 (missing: 1564/5-1566/7, 1577/8, 1594/5, 1606/7 1629/30, 1640/1-1660/1, 1681/2, 1684/5, 1685/6, 1722/3, 1740/1, 1759/60, 1774/5)
FHL BRITISH Film
1752062 Item 1
Bishop's transcripts: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1603-1813 (missing: 1604/5-1610/1, 1613/4, 1621/2, 1627/8 1642/3-1661/2, 1767/8)
FHL BRITISH Film
1737002 Item 1
Bishop's transcripts contd.: Baptisms 1813-1855, 1857-1860, 1863-1874 1879-1884, 1891-1906 Marriages 1813-1837 Burials 1813-1855, 1857-1860, 1863-1873 1879-1884, 1891-1906 "Under 1860 there is a note that as the church was taken down for rebuilding, christenings for Ripple parish were carried out in Sutton church and duly registered there."
FHL BRITISH Film
1835589 Item 3

Land Tax

Images for Ripple available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Known Issue

England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue England Easy collection Indexing Project Batch 100354-3 Incorrect parish names entered also affects Swingfield, Kent, Westbere, Kent, Ramsgate Holy Trinity, Kent Error caused by incorrect place data entry field for four parishes in items on same film. FHL BRITISH Film 1836032

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306864.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

RIPPLE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Deal. [6]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. "Date accessed 4 December 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 671-676. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,184 times.