Risør, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Aust-Agder County > Risør

Contents

Church Records

Microfilm at the Family History Library for Risør prestegjeld (clerical district).  Contains priest and sexton records for Risør parish. Belonged to Gjerstad clerical district until 1745. Included Sønneløv (Søndeled) parish until 1877. When the city burned in 1861 two church books were lost. See Sønneløv clerical district for some church records for the years 1801-1815.  Parish registers for the years 1695-1921.

See also Søndeled (Sønneløv)

and Gjerstad

Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet [Digital Archives].

Risør:  1716-1939.

Risør/Risør:  1812-1921

Risør/Søndeled:  1746-1839, 1849-1857.

Census Records

See Gjerstad, Aust-Agder for 1664-1666, and 1701.

 

  • 1801:  Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Risør is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  The 1801 census (b. 33) for Risør city lists the street name and number, person's name, position in the household, age, and occupation. A typewritten edition with indexes is available on microfiche. It is called "Mikrokortutgåva av 1801-teljina".  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.

 

  • 1865:  Folketælling 31 December 1865.  The 1865 census for Risør is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  This census contain the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.  Also available onnline at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.


  • 1875:  Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census for Risør is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. This 1875 census contains residence, the persons name, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.  Also avaiable online at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.

 

  • 1900:  Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900.  The 1900 census for Risør is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.


  • 1910: Folketellingen for Norge den 1te desember 1910.  The 1910 census forRisør is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Probate Records

Arendal and Risør city judicial district
*1709-1779 Family History Library

Risør city judicial district
*1829-1858 Family History Library
*1829-1902 Digitalarkivet


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 December 2013, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 846 times.