Risley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Risley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Risley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Risley, Derbyshire
Risley All Saints.jpg
Risley All Saints
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1696
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Sawley
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Risley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1719 from chapelry in Wilne with Draycott, Derbyshire chapelry in Sawley, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Risley registration tranferred to the Ilkeston registration district on 1 April 1938.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Risley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Risley All Saints (1719) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1720-1912
  NONE
1720-1912
  NONE
1720-1912
  NONE

Risley All Saints

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2411 has deposited registers Bap 1719-1993 Mar 1720-1993 Burials 1720-1993 Banns 1823-1974

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1696-1857 Mar 1696-1837 Burials 1696-1857 Missing Bap/Bur 1838

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.


Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Risley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 676-679. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 13:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,253 times.