Rochester Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Rochester Cathedral, Kent)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent

Guide to Rochester Cathedral, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rochester Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary

Contents

Parish History

For a history of the Cathedral Church see Rochester Cathedral Wikipedia and Rochester Cathedral website.

The Cathedral is the seat of the see of Rochester. Rochester St Nicholas, later Rochester St Nicholas with St Clement, Kent was built in 1421 alongside the Cathedral to serve the people of Rochester. The Cathedral was part of the Benedictine monastery of St Andrew and hence not a parish church.

After the Reformation the Cathedral was refounded as the Cathedral church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary and remained without a parochial church status.

The diocese of Rochester at one time included Essex parishes but now covers West Kent as far as the Diocese of London in Surrey; some North West Kent parishes are also in the diocese of Southwark.

See England Jurisdictions 1851 for diocesan boundaries. The North West Kent Family History Society parish pages also include information about parishes in the diocese.

See Rochester North West Kent Family History Society and Rochester Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rochester Cathedral parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[4]
Rochester Cathedral Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1840


FREG 1657-1994
1669-1768
1633-1812
FS BTs 1813-1840 1813-1840 1813-1840
MED 1657-1994 1657-1994 1657-1994

International Genealogical Index Christenings 1660-1672; 1694-1837 Batch (P008381) Marriages 1677-1754 Batch (M008381)

Rochester St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Rochester St Andrew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1860-1867


MED 1890-1973

Rochester St Justus parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Rochester St Justus Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1948-1960
1951-1956

MED 1948-1960 1965-1980 (funerals and cremations)

Rochester St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Rochester St Peter Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1860-1867


MED 1860-1973 1860-1973 1860-1973

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Land Tax

Images for Rochester's boroughs are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Borough of Eastgate 1680-1832

Borough of Eastgate and Rochester 1831

See Edward Hasted 'The city and liberty of Rochester: General history and description', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 45-86 at British History Online. Hasted describes Eastgate as synonmous with Broadgate; it can be located on a modern map of the city A church near you  as within the parish of Rochester St Margaret, Kent and close to the Cathedral.
Hasted also describes Southgate and Cheldegate

Census records

Census Returns for Rochester 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Medway Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,041 times.