Rodmell, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rodnell, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newhaven PLU|
|Parish registers: 1701|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
RODMELL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Holmstrow, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (S. by E.) from Lewes. The parish is bounded on the east by the river Ouse. The road from Lewes to Newhaven passes through the parish, which is also intersected by a branch of the Ermin-street. The church is principally in the early English style, with a square embattled tower, and some remains of Norman architecture. There was formerly a chapel at Northese.
The history of the church is available at Rodmell St Peter Sussex Parish Churches
A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 7: The rape of Lewes (1940), pp. 69-73. here
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Rodmell, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Rodmell, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rodmell
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 686-690. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- ↑ Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,283 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More