Romaldkirk, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Romaldkirk, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale PLU|
|Parish registers: 1578|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1615|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Romaldkirk is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Bowbank, Birtle, Carbeck, Corn Park, Cotherston, Cotherstone, Grasholme, Holwick, Hunderthwaite, Hurry, Laith, Lartington, Lonton, Loup House, Lunedale, Mickleton, Nabby and Towler Hill, Newhouses, Thorngate Hill, Thwing Garth, Thwingarth, Unthank, Wemergill, Wooden Croft, Baldersdale, and Briscoe
ROMALD-KIRK (St. Romald), a parish, in the union of Teesdale, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Cotherstone, Holwick, Hunderthwaite, Lartington, Lune, and Mickleton, 2379 inhabitants, of whom 338 are in Romald-Kirk township, 6 miles (N. W.) from Barnard Castle. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Romaldkirk exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|ROMALDKIRK PARISH (1578) Online Records|
|FREG||1578-1583, 1663-1717, 1753-1772||1578-1582, 1663-1717, 1753-1772||1578-1716, 1753-1772|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
FamilySearch Historical Records contains images of the Durham Bishop's transcripts entries for the Burial Ground Register Transcripts Cotherstone Friends (in Romaldkirk parish,Yorkshire) 1876-1878 The original transcripts are at Durham University Library (DUL) Archives and Special Collections reference DDR/EA/PBT/2/262.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 00:43.
- This page has been accessed 3,345 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More