Rotherfield, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rotherfield, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1593|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
ROTHERFIELD (St. Denis), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Rotherfield, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 8 miles (N. E.) from Uckfield. This parish is situated on the road from Tonbridge-Wells to Lewes. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. Berthwald, Duke of the South Saxons, about the year 800 founded a monastery here, subordinate to the abbey of St. Denis, in France.
A history of the church may be found at Rotherfield St Denys and St Mark Mark Cross
The Parish church of St Denys has been designated as a grade I listed building Rotherfield Wikipedia
From this parish in 1874 was formed St Mark Mark Cross. Mark Cross Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Other places of worship include
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Rotherfield, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Rotherfield, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|BIVRI||1538-1604, 1648-1764, 1813-1886||
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rotherfield
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organization of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 697-703. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- ↑ Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:24.
- This page has been accessed 4,160 times.