Rothley, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Rothley, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Rothley, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Rothley, Leicestershire
Rothley St Mary Leicestershire.jpg
Rothley St Mary, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote; West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar PLU
Registration District Barrow upon Soar; Billesdon; Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562; Separate registers exist for Wycombe and Chadwell beginning 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564; Separate records exist for Wycomb and Chadwell beginning 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Rothley
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROTHLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, chiefly in the hundred of East Goscote, but partly in that of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 1½ mile (S. by E.) from Mountsorrel. There are chapels of ease at Chadwell, Keyham, and Wartnaby; and a chapel at Mountsorrel. The Wesleyans and General Baptists have places of worship. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Rothley like this:

ROTHLEY, a village, a township, and a sub-district, in Barrow-upon-Soar district, and a parish partly also in Billelon and Melton-Mowbray districts, Leicester. The village stands on an affluent of the river Soar, 1½ mile S of Mountsorrel, and 2¾ N W of Syston r. station. The parish contains the chapelries of Wartnaby and Wycomb-with-Chad-well. There are chapels for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rothley, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Rothley, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1562-1900
1562-1904
1562-1904

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080 Fax: 0116 2571120 E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Rothley Bap 1562 - 1900 Marr 1562 - 1904 (Banns to1972) Bur 1562 - 1937

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438745.


Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 697-703. Date accessed: 30 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,290 times.