Rothwell, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Rothwell, Northamptonshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Rothwell, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rothwell, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rothwell
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Kettering
Registration District Kettering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office


Parish History

ROTHWELL (Holy Trinity), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Kettering, hundred of Rothwell, N. division of the county of Northampton, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Kettering. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rothwell, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1857 1813-1857 1813-1857 1813-1857
AC PRs 1813-1901 1813-1901 1813-1912 1813-1912

FREG 1784-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Harris, Liz. Ann Coe - a Timeline. History and time line of Joseph Coe married Anne Sturgess at Leicester. St. Martin, in Feb 1831,and their descendants, with following surnames, Yeomans, Hulbert, Reculest, Smith Beeby, Page, Panter and Barratt. The family moved around Leicestershire, to Oadby, Northamptonshire, Desborough, Rothwell, and Long Yard. Article dates from 1805-1963, and is found in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 35,no.1. August 2012 pages 19-22, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.35.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848)3. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 19:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,477 times.