Rowston, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Rowston, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Rowston, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rowston, Lincolnshire
Rowston St Clement Lincolnshire.jpg
Rowston St Clement Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford PLU
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROWSTON, or Roulston, a parish, with a village, in Sleaford district, Lincoln; near the Sleaford and Lincoln railway, 6¾ miles N by E of Sleaford. Post-town, Sleaford.[1]

Rowston St Clement is an Ancient Parish; the church was built in the 13th century and restored subsequently in 1741.

A Wesleyan reform chapel was built in the village and civil parish in 1861.

The village is abt 12 miles north of Sleaford.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was within the Billinghay sub-district of Sleaford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Rowston Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rowston

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Rowston/

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,096 times.