Roxwell, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Roxwell, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Roxwell

Guide to Roxwell, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Roxwell, Essex
St Miichael& All Angels Roxwell Essex.jpg
St Miichael& All Angels Roxwell Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford PLU
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Writtle
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Writtle with Roxwell
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Roxwell, is a parish, with a village, in Chelmsford district, Essex; on the river Chelmer, 4½ miles W by N of Chelmsford railway station. It has a post-office under Chelmsford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Roxwell, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Roxwell, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1559-1970 1559-1957 1560-1859
FAMR 1559-1836
FREG 1649-1812 1649-1812 1649-1812
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241365.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted, date accessed: 18 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,959 times.