Royston, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Royston, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Royston, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Royston, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Odsey(Hertfordshire)
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Royston PLU
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1845 - None; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROYSTON (St. John the Baptist), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the hundred of Armingford, county of Cambridge, but chiefly in the hundred of Odsey, county of Hertford, 19 miles (N. by E.) from Hertford, and 38 (N.) from London. The church was originally that of the priory, and dedicated to St. Thomas à Becket, but was purchased by the inhabitants at the dissolution of the monastery, and, by an act passed in the 32nd of Henry VIII., is called the parochial church of St. John the Baptist. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends and Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Church records fall under Hertfordshire and located there in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Parish registers for Royston, 1662-1915 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Royston, 1629-1630 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Royston, 1802-1849 at FHL

Non Conformist Churches

Cambridge non conformist records

Society of Friends (Royston)

Society of Friends (Hitchin)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288833.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Royston on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 10 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 00:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,561 times.