Rushden, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rushden, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wellingborough PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1708|
|Rural Deanery||Higham Ferrers|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
RUSHDEN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wellingborough, hundred of Higham-Ferrers, N. division of the county of Northampton, 1½ mile (S.) from Higham-Ferrers. The General and Particular Baptists, and the Wesleyans, have places of worship. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Rushden, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £|
|AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Rushden, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438876.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Allen, Derek. Ann Mayes - a Family at List. History and family tree of Joseph May with the first names of the grandchildren, Joseph (6), Richards, Tapp, Willam, Thomas, Ann, Elizabeth, Mary, Margaret and Martha. Article dated 1649-1699, and found in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine. vol.34,no.4.page 23-25. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
WebsitesRushden & District History Society
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
- ↑ 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
- This page was last modified on 26 March 2015, at 15:21.
- This page has been accessed 752 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More