Rushmere (near Lowestoft), Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Rushmere (near Lowestoft)
Rushmere (near Lowestoft), Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1718
Bishop's Transcripts: To 1836
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUSHMERE (All Saints), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 5 miles (S. W.) from Lowestoft. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Rushmere (near Lowestoft) and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Rushmere is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. For further details refer to the Suffolk Civil Registration article. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Rushmere (near Lowestoft), Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Rushmere (near Lowestoft), Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1718-1812
1724-1842
1718-1811
FS PRs Undefined 1718-1812 Undefined 1718-1842 Undefined 1718-1812
NBI

1718-1811
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Rushmere from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Rushmere (near Lowestoft) Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-719. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 May 2015, at 01:07.
  • This page has been accessed 936 times.