Säkkijärvi parish, Finland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Säkkijärvi parish, Finland)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngFinland Gotoarrow.png Viipuri CountyGotoarrow.png Säkkijärvi parish

Guide to Säkkijärvi, Finland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Name mentioned already in 1323 in a peace treaty between Sweden and Novgorod.

The area belonged to Sweden and Russia, depending where the borderline was running during the centuries. After the WW2 90% of the area was occupied by the USSR.

All Finns know this area at least by a popular song "Säkkijärven polkka" www.youtube.com/watch

The song is also famous for that during the WW2 the enemy had placed remote controlled explosives in the city Viipuri, the main city in the area. Our intelligence discovered the radio frequency used to detonate those bombs, and to prevent the signal to activate the bombs, this song was played at the same frequency 24/7 untill the bombs were found and removed.

Säkkijärvi
Jurisdictions
Hiippakunta | Stift Add Here
Pastoraatti | Pastorat Add Here
Lääni | Län Add Here
Maakunta | Landskap Add Here
Kihlakunta | Härad Add Here
Käräjäkunta | Tingslag Add Here
Tuomiokunta | Domsaga Add Here
Voutikunta | Fögderi Add Here
Kunta | Kommun Add Here
Sotilaspiiri | Militärdistrikt Add Here

Place Names

Ahola, Alatila, Alakomo, Alaoutin, Autio, Bertilä, Bertylä, Corpela, Frantsi, Haikon, Haili, Hannola, Harju, Heinlax, Hermunen, Hjetamies, Hovi, Hujacko, Huofvila, Husu, Hyppäläin, Hyppäin, Hyppöin, Hyttilä, Hyttylä , Hämälä, Hämäläin, Härkö, Häsälä, Ihalain, Ihalainen, Ihaxela, Ivanain, Jarfva, Jokikyla, Jurva, Joukain, Junnula, Juoperi, Kalari, Kalloin, Kallolain, Kankeain, Karasti, Karatti, Kardin, Karfvala, Karvala, Kasari, Kautto, Kiero, Kjero, Kokko, Kolhoin, Kolhola, Kolka, Korpela, Koskimjes, Koso, Kupias, Kupon, Kychl. Kålhala, Kålhola, Korpela, Kåså, Kähärä, Lachnajerfvi, Lafwala, Lahtiala, Laihajarfvi, Laisniemi, Laiti, Lajusjerfvi, Lakka, Lassi, Lauhajerfvi, Lavoin, Lavola, Lehko, Leino, Lyynen, Mando, Metso, Mickola, Mikkola, Mondo, Muhulax, Myllylä, Mäkipakais, Mäkälä, Mättö, Nikunen, Nuticka, Nivalax, Nokka, Nulikka, Nurmela, Näppi, Närhi, Ollikka, Outinen, Parkko, Patrusjerfvi (Patrusjärvi, in 1870? renamed as Lahtiala), Pauckainen, Pecki, Peltola, Pentti, Pukki, Päckis, Päkki, Pärtty, Päräkylä, Pätäri, Päävesi, Rahikko, Rahkola, Ristola, Ristsatama, Risu, Roni, Safwola, Salojerfvi, Sandapukki, Satamaniemi, Sirkjerfvi, Sisala, Sitzola, Sorsa, Sumis, Suni, Susi, Suupälä, Suuroin, Suurpäläin, Suutari, Säppä, Säppäläin, Säpälä, Taikina, Tapio, Teikan, Tilli, Timberi, Tjelin, Toivari, Toiwari, Tommiska, Torvi, Turkia, Turkki, Uski, Walkonen,Wilajoki, Wilamo, Willain, Willala, Winnari, Wäkävä, Wänäläin, Äyräväin

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Finnish gazeteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

(write information about the different collections, or tips on using them)

  • Church Records


  • Court Records


  • Military Records


Related Sources

  • Digital


  • Printed


Societies and Libraries


References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 April 2015, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,047 times.