Sabine County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sabine County, Texas)

United States go to Texas go to Counties S go to Sabine County

Guide to Sabine County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records

Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Sabine County Courthouse
PO Drawer 580
Hemphill, TX 75948
Phone: 409.787.3786 

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1880, land records from 1875
and probate records; District Clerk has divorce and 
court records[1]

County Clerk

P.O. Box 580
Hemphill 75948
Phone: 409-787-3786
Fax: 409-787-3975

District Clerk

P.O. Box 850
Hemphill 79548
Phone: 409-787-2912
Fax: 409-787-2623


It was the Sabine District of the Department of Nacogdoches and became the municipality of Sabine in 1835.

Parent County

1836--Sabine County was created 17 March 1836 from an old Mexican Municipality. County seat: Hemphill [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1875--Courthouse and all county records were destroyed by fire in November 1875.

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Jasper  • Newton  • Sabine Parish, Louisiana  • San Augustine  • Shelby  • Vernon Parish, Louisiana

Sabine Parish, LouisianaVernon Parish, LouisianaShelby CountyNacogdoches CountySan Augustine CountySabine CountyNewton CountyAngelina CountyJasper CountyTyler CountyTX SABINE 2.JPG
About this image



Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Family History Library - Indexes

Family History Library

Names in Stone



Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Cemeteries of Texas

Names in Stone

See Texas Cemeteries for more information.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.



After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sabine County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Local histories are available for Sabine County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.





Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sabine County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records


Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.


Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm


Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm


Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sabine County, Texas. Page 673 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 October 2015, at 00:46.
  • This page has been accessed 10,075 times.