Sacombe, Hertfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sacombe, Hertfordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Sacombe, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broadwater
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hertford
Registration District Hertford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1726
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Welwyn
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office


Parish History

Sacomb, is a parish and a village, in the district and county of Hertford; it is 4 miles NNW of Ware railway station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sacombe, Hertfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Sacombe, Hertfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1604-1724, 1880-1903
1604-1724, 1837-1906


FMP 1726-1903 1726-1903 1726-1928 1726-1928 1726-1940 1726-1940
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1726-1903 1604-1979



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288826.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Sacombe on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72.Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 June 2015, at 14:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,944 times.