Saffron Walden, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Saffron Walden, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Saffron, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saffron Walden, Essex
St Mary Saffron Walden Essex.jpg
St Mary Saffron Walden Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Saffron Walden Town
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden
Registration District Saffron Walden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Saffron Walden
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Saffron-Walden, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Essex. The town stands at the terminus of a branch railway of the Great Eastern, 2 miles from a junction at Wendon, it  is1 mile E of the river Granton; there are five dissenting chapels, and a public cemetery. The places of worship, in 1851, were Church of England, Independents, Baptists, Quakers, with Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Free-Thinking Christians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Saffron Walden, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Saffron Walden, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1950
1558-1957
1558-1982
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Mary the Virgin See also Abbey lane Congregational church, High Street (formerly Upper Meeting) Church, Hill Street (formerly Little Meeting) Church, London Road Strict Baptist church and Saffron Walden (Society of Friends)

Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptists
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241381.


Poor Law Unions

Saffron Walden Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Saffron Walden on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870). Adapted, date accessed: 18 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 17:51.
  • This page has been accessed 3,108 times.