Saint Lucia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Saint Lucia)

Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Saint Lucia

Guide to Saint Lucia ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Saint Lucia.jpg

Beginning Research


Topics
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community


Saint Lucia in its region.png
Independent island nation in the middle of the Windward Islands in the Lesser Antilles in the eastern West Indies. On the eastern edge of the Caribbean Sea, helping to separate that sea from the North Atlantic Ocean. Southeast of Puerto Rico and north of Venezuela.

Getting started with Saint Lucia research

Jurisdictions

Temporary settlements: English privateers 1550s, Netherlands 1600, English shipwreck 1605, France claimed St. Lucia in 1635, and England 1639. The first permanent settlements were from France in 1643, then England 1664, and France took over again in 1666. During the 1700s ownership changes or neutrality occurred 12 times but St. Lucia basically remained loyal to France. Great Britain gained control in 1803, and St. Lucia became independent in 1979.[1]

Saint Lucia contains 11 quarters:

  • Anse-la-Raye
  • Castries
  • Choiseul
  • Dauphin
  • Dennery
  • Gros-Islet
  • Laborie
  • Micoud
  • Praslin
  • Soufriere
  • Vieux-Fort

Research Tools

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:

References

  1. Saint Lucia in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 6 October 2015).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 October 2015, at 11:57.
  • This page has been accessed 8,869 times.