Salford, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Salford, Bedfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SALFORD (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Woburn, the hundred of Manshead, and county of Bedford. It is 4½ miles N W from Woburn. It is on the boundary of Buckinghamshire, there is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Salford, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Salford, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1559-1851

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Salford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 5 Dec 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 19:54.
  • This page has been accessed 472 times.