Salford St Luke (Weaste)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
St Luke (Weaste) Chapelry, Salford, was originally built by the year 1866. It was one of 12 chapelries under the jurisdiction of the parochial chapelry of Sacred Trinity, Salford. This and all of its sister chapelries comprised the whole of Salford Township all of which also stood within the boundary of Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral, Our Lady, St George and St Denys). 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Online transcriptions exist for Salford St Luke (Weaste) Chapelry and its eleven sister chapelries in this very large suburb in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral). Displayed below are the links to the available ranges of years for which online data (transcriptions) are located:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish|
|FS||1865-1936 - part.||1866-1933 - part.||None extant til 1951|
|LBMD||1866-1900 - part.||1866-1940||None|
|SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|FS||1842-1897||1842-1930 - part.||None|
|SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes|
|LBMD||1838-1900||1838-1940 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes|
|FS||1826-1914||1838-1935 - part.||1833-1840|
|FREG||1826-1864 - part.||1865-1891 - part.||1834-1888|
|SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes|
|FS||1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864||1709-1882||1709-1854|
|SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes|
|FS||1869-1921 - part.||1869-1940 - part.||1949-1968 - part.|
|SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes|
|FS||1794-1931 - part.||1838-1957 - part.||1805-1865 (part.)|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels in the ancient parish of Manchester, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Parish (chapelry) registers for St Luke (Weaste) Chapelry, Salford, 1865-1936 on film of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Manchester Archives Central Library call numbers are MFPR 1829 to 1832 or MFPR 2019 to MFPR 2022 as follows:
Baptisms-1865-1918- MFPR 1829 or MFPR 2019 Baptisms-1918-1925- MFPR 1830 or MFPR 2019 Baptisms-1925-1936- MFPR 1830 Burials-1951-1961- MFPR 1832 Marriages-1866-1889- MFPR 1830 or MFPR 2019 Marriages-1889-1904- MFPR 1830 or MFPR 2020 Marriages-1904-1913- MFPR 1831 or MFPR 2020 Marriages-1913-1923- MFPR 1831 or MFPR 2021 Marriages-1923-1937- MFPR 1832 or MFPR 2021 Marriages-1937-1945- MFPR 1832 or MFPR 2022
FamilySearch has also microfilmed these parish (chapelry) registers from 1869-1968, and some have been transcribed (see above) and published online.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438737. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 3 October 2012, at 19:28.
- This page has been accessed 429 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More