Saltney, FlintshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Saltney, Flintshire, Wales)

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngSaltney

A guide to genealogy in Saltney, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Saltney is a small town and community on the Dee Estuary in Flintshire, Wales and sits immediately on the border with England, with parts of the community on both sides! The whole of Saltney is in the English ecclesiastical parish of Lache-with-Saltney.

Contents

History

The name is derived from the former salt marshes on which it is built, lying on the River Dee. The Wales/England border runs down the middle of Boundary Lane in Saltney, the only urban street in England or Wales where this happens.

Once the terminus of Sir John Glynne's Canal, Higher Saltney more commonly known by local people as "Top Saltney" is in Chester, Cheshire, England, with the Welsh part of the community known more specifically as Saltney Town.

Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464324.

Poor Law Union Records


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2013, at 01:26.
  • This page has been accessed 574 times.