Sampford Spiney, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sampford Spiney, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sampford Spiney, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Tavistock PLU|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
SAMPFORD-SPINEY, a parish, in the union of Tavistock, hundred of Roborough, Tavistock and S. divisions of Devon, 4¼ miles (E. by S.) from Tavistock. The parish is situated on the verge of Dartmoor, and intersected by the Plymouth and Dartmoor railway; it comprises 1475 acres, of which 285 are common or waste land. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sampford Spiney, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Sampford Spiney, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sampford Spiney on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 20:48.
- This page has been accessed 2,113 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News