Sankt Jørgen Pleiestiftelsen, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngBergen City Gotoarrow.pngSankt Jørgens Pleistiftelsen

Guide to Sankt Jørgens Pleiestiftelsen, Bergen City, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Skt. Jørgens hospital (church) became part of Årstad in 1886. It belonged to Fana clerical district before 1749. Microfilm at the Family History Library include church records for Årstad clerical district in Bergen. Microfilmed records cover 1744-1931.

Årstad parish became its own clerical district in 1886 and included the parishes:

  • Årstad
  • Skt. Jørgens hospital with:
    • D. D. Krohns og Frues Stiftelse
    • de Søfarendes fattighus
    • Stranges fattighus
    • Enkefattighuset
    • Pleiestiftelsen no. 1 for leprosy patients
    • Lungegårdshospitalet and their employees

There is a separate record kept for the Leprosy hospital (Pleiestiftelsen no. 1 for spedalske) in Bergen for the years 1859-1886. The records are sometimes listed in Bergen Hospitaler.

Digitized images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet. Årstad, 1886-1943 Skt. Jørgens hospital, 1743-1906 Skt. Jørgen, 1823-1935 Pleiestiftelsen for Leprosy patients, 1859-1886


History

History of Skt. Jørgens hospital.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 April 2015, at 16:05.
  • This page has been accessed 501 times.