Sankt Peter parish, Zürich, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Sankt Peter

Guide to Sankt Peter parish, Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.



The parish of Sankt Peter served portions of the city of Zürich, as well as the civil parishes of Aussersihl, Enge, Leimbach, and Wiedikon. In 1529, Altstetten, which had belonged to the church parish of Sankt Peter, was established as an independent Protestant parish. In 1702, Sankt Peter obtained the civil parish of Wollishofen, which became independent in 1854.


Surrounding Parishes

Uitikon am Albis


Church Records

The church of Sankt Peter is located in Zürich, but serviced many surrounding municipalities. Some of those municipalities were considered affiliate churches, and kept their own records; others did not. Some municipalities became affiliates later on, and as such books were created for those affiliates with extracted entries from the Sankt Peter church records. The following list contains the name of each affiliate of the parish, with a description of what record types are available for that affiliate.

Sankt Peter

Sankt Peter baptism records are available from 1553, marriage records from 1554, and burial records from 1660. Click here to access the FamilySearch Catalog information for Sankt Peter.


The municipality of Wiedikon was

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Some censuses are listed under the filial parishes that belonged to Sankt Peter. The following censuses are available for the entire church parish of Sankt Peter:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1637 1185141 1 155
1660-1661 1185152 2 643
1671 1185155 1 149
1683 1185158 2 113

Additionally, the chapelry of Sankt Jakob, part of the civil parish of Wiedikon and the church parish of Sankt Peter, has available censuses for the following years:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1671 1185155 1 437
1684 1185158 2 259
1724 1185173 1 1

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich


Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2015, at 16:32.
  • This page has been accessed 503 times.