Satley, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Contents

Parish History

SATLEY, a township and chapelry, in the parish and union of Lanchester, W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 5 miles (N. E. by N.) from Wolsingham; the township.[1]

Additional information:

Satley was an ancient chapelry but became a parish in 1868 formerly a chapel of ease for Lanchester, Durham parish. It includes Butsfield, Satley, Cornsay and Hedleyhope.
Satley, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish records: 1797
Bishop's Transcripts: 1797
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/219 Date: May 1797-1840
Related material at DULASC: Satley transcripts August 1796-August 1797, 1802 and 1820 are included with Esh transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/103 Satley transcript 1803 is included with Lanchester transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/164
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. For Satley transcripts August 1796-August 1797, 1802 and 1820 refer to Esh, Durham transcripts. For Satley transcript 1803 refer to  Lanchester, Durham transcript. FamilySearch engineers will in future reload the whole collection to correct some aspects of the presentation of images.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1797-1960 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Sat).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.

Poor Law Unions

Lanchester Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2014, at 15:05.
  • This page has been accessed 728 times.