Sauk County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Sauk County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Sauk County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Sauk County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 11, 1840
County Seat Baraboo
Courthouse
Address Sauk County Courthouse
505 Broadway
Boradoo, WI 53913
Phone (608) 356-45581
Sauk County Website
WI Sauk.png

Contents

Historical Facts

Parent County

1840--Sauk County was created 11 January 1840 fromCrawford, Dane and Portage Counties.
County seat: Baraboo [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Plain

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran

St. John's Lutheran Church, Reedsburg

  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Reedsburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Rock Springs

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Rock Springs, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

www.co.sauk.wi.us/registerofdeeds

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Plain History Genealogy Groupgarylhaas

garylhaas.web.aplus.net/

This group meets the second Saturday of January, March, May, September, November. The July meeting is held the third Saturday of the month. The meeting is held at the Kraemer Library and Community Center.

This group has access to unique genealogical and historical information sources.

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Sauk County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sauk County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers



Societies

Plain History Genealogy Group[1]

garylhaas.web.aplus.net/

This group meets the second Saturday of January, March, May, September, November. The July meeting is held the third Saturday of the month. The meeting is held at the Kraemer Library and Community Center.

This group has access to unique genealogical and historical information sources.

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 June 2014, at 14:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,429 times.