Saundby, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Saundby, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to: Saundby, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

Saundby, Nottinghamshire
Saundby St Martin of Tours Nottinghamshire.jpg
Saundby St Martin of Tours Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Gainsborough
Registration District Gainsborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SAUNDBY (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Gainsborough. The church is in the later English style, with portions of an earlier date, and a very handsome tower built, according to an inscription on one of the stones, in 1500.[1]

Additional information:

The redundant Anglican parish church of Saundby St Martin of Tours was an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire and part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Gainsborough Holy Trinity, Lincolnshire which lies two miles to the east of the river Trent. The church is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust St Martin of Tours Wikipedia Churches Conservation Trust

The parish church of St Martin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Saundby Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Saundby, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Saundby, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1563-1967 Marriages 1563-1962 ( there is a single entry for 1968 also) Burials 1563-1977 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Saundby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Gainsborough Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Saundby in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,318 times.