Sawtry All Saints, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Sawtry All Saints, Huntingdonshire|
|Poor Law Union||Huntingdon PLU|
|Parish registers: 1591|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon|
|Location of Archive|
|Huntingdonshire Record Office|
Guide to Sawtry All Saints, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Sawtry (All Saints), is a parish, in the village of Sawtry, in the hundred of Norman-Cross, and a sub-district in the district of Huntingdon, Huntingdonshire, 3¼ miles S W of Holme railway station.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sawtry All Saints, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Sawtry All Saints, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288838.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sawtry All Saints on GENUKI
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:53.
- This page has been accessed 1,359 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More