Schleswig-Holstein: Place NamesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Introduction

Vital Records of our ancestors, such as births or baptisms, marriages, and deaths or burials, can be found in the parish registers of Schleswig-Holstein.  Family records may indicate the name of a smaller locality, such as a farm or village.  It is necessary to identify the name of the parish to which this locality belonged before vital records can be searched.  This list of place names in Schleswig-Holstein will help you identify parish and district (Kreis) jurisdictions for localities.  Place names as they existed from 1867 to 1920 when these areas were under Prussian administration have been identified in this listing.  Parishes in the Kreise or districts of Apenrade, Hadersleben, Sonderburg, and the northern part of Tondern Kreis now belong to Denmark.  The southern portion of Tondern Kreis is in the modern state of Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. 

 

Search for a place name

Searching for a known place name

To begin searching for a place name, click on the corresponding letter below:

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

J-K

L-M

N-O

P-Q

R

S

T-V

W-Z


Searching for an illegible place name


Sometimes the place name is illegible. If you can only read the last part of a village name, here is a reversed order gazetteer, meaning the last letter starts with the letter "a".

To begin searching for a place name in reverse order, click on the corresponding letter below:

A-C

D

E

F

G

H

I-K

L

M

N-O

P-Q

R

S

T

U-Y

Z


See also

http://www.top.akvz.de/TOP_Stamm_4.pdf

For further descriptions of a place in Schleswig-Holstein

Schleswig-Holstein Place Names Indexes



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 March 2011, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 5,072 times.