Schwamendingen parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Schwamendingen parish

Guide to Schwamendingen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

In 1934, Schwamendingen was annexed to the city of Zürich.

Place Names

Locations within Schwamendingen

Surrounding Parishes

Affoltern bei Zürich
Dübendorf
Fluntern (Predigern)
Kloten
Oberstrass (Predigern)
Oerlikon
Seebach
Unterstrass (Predigern)
Wallisellen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Schwamendingen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 577
1637 1185142 2 559
1640 1185143 1 3
1657 1185179 1 11
1671 1185155 1 463
1678 1185152 3 279
1701 1185165 1 1137
1721 1185173 1 225

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Schwamendingen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Schwamendingen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 February 2015, at 18:27.
  • This page has been accessed 362 times.