Schwellbrunn parish, Appenzell, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngAppenzell Ausserrhoden Gotoarrow.png Schwellbrunn parish

Guide to Schwellbrunn parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

Schwellbrunn is located on a hill above Degersheim and Herisau. It has an area of 17.4 square kilometers (6.7 square miles). The area is used thusly:

61.5% agriculture
33.3% forest
5.1% settlement
0.1% non-productive

Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Schwellbrunn.

History

Schwellbrunn was first mentioned in 1268 as Schwellbrunnen. In 1649, it becane an independent parish, separating from Herisau. The population was 1,012 in 1667. By 1794, the population had reached its zenith at 2,436, falling to 2,254 by 1850 and 1,888 by 1900.

Place Names

Locations within Schwellbrunn

Acker
Aeckerli
Aedelschwil
Aeschenwies
Aspen
Beldschwendi
Berg
Bergli
Bild
Blatten
Boden
Brisig
Bruggenmaas
Bubenstieg
Bühel
Dietenberg
Eggeli
Einsiegele
Einweg
Engishalden
Erzenberg

Ettenberg
Fuchsacker
Gägelhof
Gasenrähn
Ghör
Glatt
Gmündly
Gruben
Gschwend
Halden
Harz
Hintere Au
Höf
Hohenrähn
Hogg
Hölzli
Kappelen
Klus
Ladberg
Landersberg
Landscheide

Löschwende
March
Marchstein
Moos
Moosegg
Mühli
Niederfeld
Niedergaden
Nord
Preisig
Rähn
Reuthy
Ribbisthal
Risi
Röthenwies
Rothschwende
Rötschwil
Ruchacker
Russegg
Sägen

Schwellbrunn
Schwendi
Setz
Sonder
Stein
Steinrislen
Strick
Tiefe
Tobel
Unterholz
Unterrisi
Vorder Au
Vorderrisi
Waldersberg
Weiher
Wesen
Wiesflecken
Wiesle
Witenberg
Zwick

Surrounding Parishes

Click here for a map showing Schwellbrunn in relationship to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

Degersheim (Sankt Gallen)
Herisau
Mogelsberg (Sankt Gallen)
Sankt Peterzell (Sankt Gallen)
Schönengrund
Urnäsch
Waldstatt

Collections

Church Records

The parish records for Schwellbrunn are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives.  They are organized by volume.  Click here to access these records.

The parish of Schwellbrunn was established as an independent church parish in 1649 from the parish of Herisau. Records prior to 1649 are extracts from the Herisau registers.  Records held at the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen) 1583-1650 and 1662-1878, confirmations (Konfirmanden) 1777-1830, marriages (Heiraten) 1583-1878, and deaths (Tote) 1648-1771 and 1778-1879. 

The following family books (Familienbuch) were established for Schwellbrunn, and are held at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau:

Volume 1 (1667) - household visitation book (found in the archive under Altes Archiv 51.1)
Volume 2 (1675) - household roll
Volume 3 (1766) - household roll
Volume 4 (1700-1800) - family register of citizens
Volume 5 (19th century) - family register of citizens

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Schwellbrunn families:

Alder family, by Gottlieb Büchler (FHL Film 962,790)
Alder family
, by Gottlieb Büchler (FHL Film 973,013)
Baumgartner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,467)
Bondt family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,469)
Bühler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,964; see also FHL Film 193,470)
Diem family, by Gottlieb Büchler (FHL Film 962,790; see also FHL Film 193,470)
Frischknecht family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,966; see also FHL Film 193,471)
Frischknecht family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 824,231; see also FHL Film 193,471)
Himmelberger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,974; see also FHL Film 193,474)
Hug family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,475)
Keller family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,971)
Mock family, by Gottlieb Büchler (FHL Film 973,013)
Müller family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,042 and 128,043)
Näf/Nef family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,035; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Preisig family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,084)
Rutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,482)
Schmid family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 599,106; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Schoch family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,986; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Schoch family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,009; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Signer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,484)
Stricker family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Sturzenegger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 282,487)
Zellweger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,008)
Zuberbühler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,036; see also FHL Film 193,488)

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Schwellbrunn belongs to the Hinterland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at: Zivilstandsamt Hinterland App. A. Rh.
Poststrasse 6
CH - 9102 Herisau Tel: +41 71 354 54 35 Email: zivilstandsamt@herisau.ar.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Schwellbrunn prior to 1875:

Alder (extinct)
Baumann
Bondt
Brunner (extinct)
Büchler
Bühler
Dickenmann
Diem
Fisch
Fitzi (extinct)
Frischknecht
Götz (extinct)

Heuscher
Himmelberger
Hug
Jäger
Keller
Lendenmann (extinct)
Lienhard
Meier
Mock
Müller
Näf/Nef
Preisig

Rapp (extinct)
Rohner
Rotach
Rutz
Schefer
Schiess (1847)
Schläpfer
Schmid
Schoch
Schweizer
Signer
Stark (extinct)

Stricker
Sturzenegger
Tanner
Tribelhorn
Wagner (1820)
Wenzel (extinct)
Zeller
Zellweger
Zuberbühler
Zülli
Züst

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 17:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,841 times.