Schwerzenbach parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Schwerzenbach parish

Guide to Schwerzenbach parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Schwerzenbach

Eichhof
Engelrüti
Hegger
Heidenried
Juch
Platte

Ried
Rütihof
Schwerzenbach
Sonnenberg
Stationsquartier
Zielacker

Surrounding Parishes

Dübendorf
Fällanden
Greifensee
Volketswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Schwerzenbach:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 353
1637 1185142 1 499
1640 1185144 2 223
1643 1185146 2 97
1646 1185148 1 579
1649 1185149 1 921
1670 1185154 2 207
1678 1185158 1 313
1682 1185159 2 205
1689 1185163 2 681
1694 1185167 1 1271
1707 1185169 2 581
1721 1185178 1 305
1726 1185178 1 317

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Schwerzenbach families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Schwerzenbach belongs to the Volketswil civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstands- und Bestattungsamt Volketswil
Zentralstrasse 21
8604 Volketswil

Tel: +41 44 910 21 00

email: zivilstandsamt@volketswil.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Schwerzenbach prior to 1875:

Denzler
Fischer
Gujer
Gull
Reif
Walder (from Oetwil am See)
Winkler

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 400 times.