Scotland County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Scotland County

Guide to Scotland County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Scotland County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Memphis
Courthouse
Address Scotland County Courthouse
117 S Market Street
Memphis, MO 63555
Phone: 660.465.7027
Scotland County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1889;
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and
land records from 1841; probate Judge has probate
records from 1841[1]

History

Parent County

1841--Scotland County was created 29 January 1841 from Lewis County. County seat: Memphis [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adair  • Clark  • Davis County, Iowa  • Knox  • Schuyler  • Van Buren County, Iowa

Scotland CountySchuyler CountyPutnam CountyAdair CountyKnox CountyAdams CountyLewis CountyHancock CountyLee CountyHenderson CountyDes Moines CountyHenry CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyMonroe CountyVan Buren CountyJefferson CountyAppanoose CountyClark CountyMOScotland.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Scotland County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Scotland County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Moscotland.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scotland County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865 - Scotland County Birth Index 1865. Batch C515791 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1841-1885 - Scotland County Marriage Index 1841-1885. Batch M515791 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Scotland County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M515792 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1889 - Scotland County Death Index 1883-1889. Batch B515483 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Scotland County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 232
Memphis, MO 63555
Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~moscotla/scgs.htm

Scotland County Memorial Library
306 W. Madison
Memphis, Mo 63555
Phone: (660) 465-7042
Website: http://scotland.lib.mo.us/content/genealogy-links

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scotland County, Missouri. Page 405 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 March 2014, at 21:15.
  • This page has been accessed 3,870 times.