Scott Willoughby, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Parishes

Scott Willoughby St Andrew Lincolnshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WILLOUGHBY, SCOTT (St. Andrew), a parish in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aswardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 3 miles (N. W. by N.) from Falkingham.[1]

Scott Willoughby St Andrew is an Ancient Parish although the present church was rebuilt in 1826 after a period of dereliction. It was further restored in 1882.

Scott Willoughby is a hamlet named for a nearby Mediaeval settlement and is part of the Aunsby and Dembleby civil parish. There are separate ecclesiastical parishes at Aunsby, Lincolnshire and Dembleby, Lincolnshire

Scott Willoughby or Scot Willoughby is also known as Willoughby Water.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of Sleaford registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Scot Willoughby Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Willoughby, Scott (Census only)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,,. (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 Sept 2013.
  2. Wilcox, Anthony. National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 6, Pt. 4. Society of Genealogist, London: 1995

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:50.
  • This page has been accessed 605 times.