Scottow, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Scottow, Norfolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Scottow, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Scottow, Norfolk
All Saints, Scottow, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1549
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

SCOTTOW (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 10 miles (N. by E.) from Norwich. [1]
Scottow All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Scottow is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is located some 4 kilometres (2.5 mi) north of Coltishall and 8 kilometres (5.0 mi) south of North Walsham.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of North Norfolk.

Most of the former Royal Air Force Coltishall military airbase lied within the parish boundaries of Scottow. Today, part of the RAF base has been converted in to HMPrison Bure, a prison for adult males.

Also includes Batley Green.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Aylsham

Church records

Scottow, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Scottow, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1880
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880

This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Baptisms and burials 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665?-1771, 1790-1812 Marriages 1600-1607, 1623-1633, 1665?-1771, 1790-1811
1526780 Item 14

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Curties. E.A. The Curties Family of Norfolk. History and family tree of Robert Curtes and Prudence Gascoyne, with the following surnames, Barker, Boldney, Leman, Creasey, Doughty, Parker, Paul, Titsell, Smith, Topps, Hutton, Lake, Howard, Summere, Sturt, Bailey, Loynes, Mattewson, Rook. There is a descripiton of each of the family and their life, in many Norfolk Parishes. Brampton, Irstead, Aylsham, Sidestand, Oxnead, Scottow, Trimingham, North Walsham, and Swofield. Article dates are 1556-1945, and is found in The Norfok Ancestor, old series, vol. 2,pt2 page 17-22, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j old series, v2. pt. 2

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 30-34. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 17:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,482 times.