Scredington, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Scredington, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Scredington, Lincolnshirefamily history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Scredington, Lincolnshire
Scredington St Andrew Lincolnshire.jpg
Scredington St Andrew Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1738
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

SCREDINGTON (St. Andrew), a parish in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aswardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Sleaford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Screditon St Andrew is an Ancient Parish which includes Hambledon, Northbeck and Highgate within the parish boundary.

The church was built in the fifteenth century and resored in 1869 and is a Grade II listed building by English Heritage. A Wesleyan Methodist chapel dates from 1875.


Civil Registration

This parish was in the Aswarby sub-District of Sleaford Registration District but in 1891 re-organisation transferred to Leadenham sub-district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Scredington Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Scredington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 00:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,648 times.