Scremby, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Parishes

Scremby, Lincolnshire
Scremby St Peter & St Paul Lincolnshire.jpg
Scremby St Peter & St Paul Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Candleshoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby PLU
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Candleshoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SCREMBY (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the wapentake of Candleshoe with parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 3½ miles (E. N. E.) from Spilsby.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Scremby Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Scremby

Census records

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 June 2014, at 20:02.
  • This page has been accessed 587 times.