Screven County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Screven County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Screven County

Guide to Screven County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Screven County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Screven County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 14, 1793
County Seat Sylvania
Address Screven County Courthouse
216 Mims Road;
Sylvania, GA 30467-0159
Phone: 912.564.2622
Screven County Website


County Courthouse

Screven County Courthouse
216 Mims Road;
Sylvania, GA 30467-0159
Phone: 912.564.2622 ;

Probate Court has birth and death record from 1927, marriage and probate records from 1817; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1816 and land records from 1790[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
216 Mims Rd.
P.O. Box 156
Sylvania, GA 30467
Telehone: (912) 564-2614
Fax: (912) 564-2622

Probate Court of Screven County
216 Mims Road, Suite 107
Sylvania, GA 30467
Telephone: 912-564-2783
Fax: 912-564-9139

Beginning Dates for Screven County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




Parent County

1793--Screven County was created 14 December 1793 fromBurke and Effingham Counties. County seat: Sylvania [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1864 and 1897. During the American Civil War the courthouse at Sylvania was destroyed, most likely during Sherman's March to the Sea by elements of the Union Army Twelfth and Fourteenth Corps about 3 to 6 December 1864. Also, the replacement courthouse burned 8 January 1897.[3]

Many of the Screven County records have been lost over time. Various types of records have so many different start dates, it is not possible to attribute all the county record losses to the above mentioned catastrophes only.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Allendale County, South Carolina  • Bulloch County  • Burke County  • Effingham County  • Hampton County, South Carolina  • Jenkins County

Screven CountyJenkins CountyBurke CountyRichmond CountyJefferson CountyEmanuel CountyCandler CountyToombs CountyTattnall CountyEvans CountyBryan CountyChatham CountyBulloch CountyEffingham CountyBeaufort CountyJasper CountyHampton CountyAllendale CountyColleton CountyOrangeburg CountyBamberg CountyBarnwell CountyAiken CountyGAScreven.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.


All Saints Church, Sylvania

  • 1879-1885 - All Saints Church, Sylvania, Baptism Index 1879-1885. Batch C713701 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1879-1895 - All Saints Church, Sylvania, Marriage Index 1879-1895. Batch M713701 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Screven County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Screven County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Screven County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 5th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company F
- 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company D
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, D and G
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Screven County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Screven County Historical and Genealogical Society
384 Penrose Drive West
Savannah, Georgia 31410-1234<Elizabeth Lee

Savannah Area Genealogical Association
P.O. Box 15385
Savannah 31416

Savannah History Association
303 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
Savannah 31401-4217

Savannah River Valley Genealogical Society
110 Benson St.
Hartwell 30643-1704

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Screven County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 51. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2015, at 19:09.
  • This page has been accessed 14,311 times.