Seale, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Seale, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch PLU
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566; Separate reisters exist for Blackfordby beginning 1653 and also for Donisthorpe beginning 1838 and for Over Seal beginning 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563; Separate records exist for Blackfordby beginning 1630 and also for Donisthorpe beginning 1838 and also for Over Seal beginning 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SEAL (St Peter), a parish, in the union of Ashby, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 5¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Ashby de la Zouch; containing, with part of the chapelry of Blackfordby, and part of the hamlet and chapelry of Donisthorpe (1838)--which lies partly in Church Gressley Parish in Derbyshire; it also contains the little hamlets of Nether Seal and Over Seal.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Seale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Seale St Peter (1566) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1901-1912
  NONE
1903-1912
  NONE

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, 'A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 36-40. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2014, at 16:33.
  • This page has been accessed 395 times.