Seaton Carew, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Seaton Carew, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.pngDurham Parishes

Guide to Seaton Carew, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seaton Carew, Durham
Seaton Carew Holy Trinity Co Durham.jpg
Seaton Carew Holy Trinity Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Hartlepool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1821
Bishop's Transcripts: 1833
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

SEATON-CAREW, a township and ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Stranton, union of Stockton, N. E. division of Stockton ward, and S. division of the county of Durham, 3 miles (S. by W.) from Hartlepool, and 10 (N. E. by N.) from Stockton; There are places of worship for Wesleyans and the Society of Friends.[1]

Additional information: Holy Trinity Seaton Carew was formed as parish from the ancient parish of Stranton Stranton, Durham in 1841 and was previously a chapelry within Stranton.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/221  1833-1879Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1831-1937 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SC).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Seaton Carew (see Stranton) on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,152 times.