Seckington, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Tamworth|
|Parish registers: 1612|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1679|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
SECKINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick, 3¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Tamworth. 
Seckington is an Ancient Parish in the county of Warwickshire.
SECKINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick, 3¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Tamworth; containing 118 inhabitants. It comprises by measurement 816 acres, exclusively of roads; 450 acres are arable land, producing wheat and barley, and the remainder pasture. The soil is chiefly clay, and the scenery is diversified with wood, principally oak, ash, and larch. The Birmingham and Derby railway passes through the parish. The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £5. 16. 0½., and in the patronage of Sir R. Burdett, Bart.: the tithes have been commuted for £213, and there are 28 acres of excellent glebe, with a good parsonage-house. The church is a handsome structure in the later English style, and contains an ancient monument in fine preservation to an ancestor of Sir R. Burdett's. Near the church are vestiges of a large encampment; and in the neighborhood is the site of a small priory, founded by William Burdett in the reign of Henry II.
From: 'Seaton - Sedgwick', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 40-44. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51262 Date accessed: 31 March 2011.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Seckington, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Seckington, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 20:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,894 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News