Sedgebrook, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sedgebrook, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Sedgebrook, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sedgebrook, Lincolnshire
Sedgebrook St Lawrence Lincolnshire.jpg
Sedgebrook St Lawrence Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winnibriggs and Threo
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

SEDGEBROOK (St. Lawrence), a parish in the union of Newark, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Grantham.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Phone: 01522 782244


Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Sedgebrook Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sedgebrook

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Sedgebrook, A Village and Its People ( 


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.

The History of Sedgebrook Village


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 00:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,479 times.