Sedlescombe, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sedlescombe, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Battle PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
SEDLESCOMB (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Battle, hundred of Staple, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 3 miles (N. E.) from Battle. The church is principally in the early English style, and was enlarged in 1838 by the erection of a south aisle. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
Church history Sedlescombe St John the Baptist
The church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
Sedlescombe Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) includes other places of worship
Second Congregational Chapel
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sedlescombe
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,188 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More