Seen parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Seen parish

Guide to Seen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Seen belonged to Oberwinterthur until 1648, when it became an indepdent parish. In 1922, Seen was annexed by the city of Winterthur.

Place Names

Locations within Seen

Berg bei Sennhof
Boll
Eidberg
Felsenhof
Floren
Friedli
Ganzenbühl
Gotzenwil
Grinen
Grüntal
Jakobshalde

Iberg
Katzensteig
Klösterli
Köhlberg
Mattenbach
Mulchlingen
Ober-Seen
Paradies
Schanz
Schweikhof
Seen

Sennhof
Sennhütte
Stocken
Thaa
Waldegg
Weier
Weierhöhe
Weierweid
Wurmbühl
Ziegelhütte

Surrounding Parishes

Kyburg
Oberwinterthur
Schlatt
Winterthur
Zell

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Seen became an independent parish in 1648. For censuses prior to 1648, see Oberwinterthur.

The following censuses are available for Seen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1650 1185150 2 387
1657 1185179 1 42
1663 1185179 2 245
1671 1185154 1 41
1678 1185157 1 447
1682 1185159 3 75
1690 1185162 1 297
1695-1696 1185168 2 497
1708 1175170 1 759
1722 1185175 1 281
1738 1185175 1 319

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Seen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Seen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 14:30.
  • This page has been accessed 361 times.